“So, Gracie, tell me about yourself.” Tyler asked me.

Was this a trick question??

I hated when guys that I met on the internet asked me this. I mean … really??  All the basics were pretty much covered on my profile.  My name, age, current living city, height, child status, and a brief overview of my interests were all listed.  It was a requirement of the site, and more importantly, we had discussed a lot in our message exchange before we agreed to meet. Because of this, I was confused about what he wanted to me say.

“Well, what do you want to know?” I replied.  A coward move, I know, but I really didn’t know how to answer the question.

Tyler was my third attempt at this, “Internet Dating Craze”, I figured there was something specific he was looking for me to say. He came off that way. intelligent, self-assured, confident, not to mention, tall, sexy as shit, well employed, dark skinned, and child-free.  To be honest, I was intimidated. I didn’t want to say the wrong thing, for fear of turning him off, but at the same time I didn’t want to be fake either.

He laughed. “It’s a simple question, beautiful.  Just tell me something not on the internet, that you feel comfortable sharing.”

“Ok … Well birth name isn’t Gracie. It’s actually Anastacia, my middle name is Grace, and my nickname is Gracie.  Before I moved here, I lived in Tennessee.  I was born and raised in Memphis. What about you? Is this the only place you’ve ever lived?”

I stopped there.  If this was going to be a true conversation, then there was going to give and take. Hopefully, with him doing more of the giving.

Tyler smiled. His smile was even more beautiful in person than on his pictures. It was so contagious, it made me smile too. He knew what I had tried to do, and that was throw the conversation back to him.

“No, actually I’ve lived a little everywhere New York, D.C., Texas, California, Georgia, and Florida. I even lived in Europe, although, I will be honest. I don’t remember much about it.  I was a baby at the time.”

“So in your adult life it’s safe you’re a “Rolling Stone”?” I asked with a smirk only half-joking.

“Actually no, even though it might seem that way.  Every move was calculated.  As you know, I was a military brat, so that explains Europe, Georgia, Florida, and Texas. I did my undergrad in D.C. at Howard University. Then went to NYU for grad school. When I landed my job, they moved me here to California.” Tyler looked me in my eyes as he spoke. That little act made it seem as if he and I were the only ones here at this only semi-crowded Starbucks.

“I’ve been here ever since. I love it. This place has its own vibe. Totally different from everywhere else I’ve lived.  What about you? Even in our internet correspondences we never discussed how you ended up in the Golden State.” He continued.

“College. I knew I wanted to get as far away from Memphis as I could after I graduated.  Didn’t want to get stuck there. You know?  I went to UCLA on a track scholarship. I did undergrad and my graduate studies there. Then I landed a job with Novus Studios in marketing. I hated it.  In my spare time, I did YouTube videos. I guess my “Gracie Babies” loved what they saw. It really took off for me.  Now, I can do what I love full-time. But yeah, to make a long story short, I moved here for college.”

I never really told men that I did YouTube for a living. Most didn’t understand that YouTube was no joke. I have a 3 bedroom condo downtown here in LA, a new Mercedes Benz, and had been to almost every major destination because of it and my six different sponsorship and partnership deals. I probably made more than him.

In truth, I don’t know why I told him.  I probably won’t be having a second date with this “prime piece of man real estate” because of it, but oh well.  I guess I will just enjoy this muffin, his company, and make the best of it.

“So that explains those beautiful, toned, chocolate legs and your infectious personality. I gotta be honest with you though …”

Here it comes I thought.  Damn I liked this one. I refused to discuss my net worth just to keep him though.  He didn’t need to know what my chosen occupation paid me.

“I already knew that you did YouTube.  My sister is a “Gracie Baby”. I mentioned to her that I was going on my first internet date, told her your name, showed her your picture, and she almost fainted.” Tyler looked genuinely amused by the memory.

His sister was one of my Gracie Babies?? The made me smile. I loved my Babies.

“I just wanted to see if you would be honest about it.  I think it’s pretty dope.  You’re your own boss. That means you should always have time for me.” He said with a twinkle in his eyes.  I knew he was messing with me about the time comment.

Our conversation flowed even more smoothly after that.

We got there at 8pm and were still getting to know each other and having a good time when we were told the place would be closing in 5 minutes. It was 12.25am.  We had shut the place down. That was a first for me, and by the look on his face, I knew it was a first for him as well.

Thank you Lord.  This little meet up went well.

We walked out hand-in-hand. He walked to me to car, pulled me into a bear hug, much different from the polite little church hug he gave me when we first arrived, pulled back just a little to look me in the face as he said, “I hope YouTube won’t be the only way I get to see you again.  I want to take you on a REAL date. Would that be all right with you?”

Did he think I was gonna say no?? I was team Tyler right now.  Hell yes, I wanted to see him again.

“Yeah, I would like that.” I gave him a flirtatious smile and batted my lashes. “Just give me a call and we can set it up.”

There was that smile again.  “Ok. I will call you Wednesday so we can make plans for this up coming weekend.” Then he kissed my forehead and released me.

I got in my car, started it up, and then waited for him to get situated him his Benz Truck.

UmphHe even matches my fly.  Hell yeah, I’m setting something up with him.” I said to myself as passed his car on my way out.

Leave a Reply

